Year 6 Blog 2019-20

Posted by jasonedwards


Year 6 Blog 2019 – 2020

Welcome back

Dear Parents

Welcome to the Year 6 blog, where you will find updates and information concerning the Year 6 students here at DC. We hope you had a great summer break, whether that was here in Hong Kong or further afield. This year the Year 6 team remains the same as last year, Miss Harrison, Ms Cameroon, Miss Seward, Mr Edwards, Mr Urquart and Mrs Trimmingham.

The students have started the term with energy and enthusiasm and are settling into their new classes and routines seamlessly. This week the classes have been setting up class agreements, distributing jobs and excitedly receiving their computers. This all fits into our first unit of inquiry which is ‘How we organise ourselves’. Within this unit we will be inquiring into systems of leadership and how it is necessary to participate to be able to activate change. This connects with our language where we will be learning how persuasion and debates can influence thinking. We will start our maths curriculum with a focus on pattern and function and this includes using simple algebra to predict future terms of a pattern.

In the next few months we have a range of dates that are important for the Year 6 students, please find below the latest update, which could be subject to change.

Thursday 29 August – Parent Information Fair

Friday 6 September – DC CPD Day

Wednesday 18 September – Parent Teacher Conferences

Thursday 19 September – Parent Teacher Conferences

Tuesday 24 September – 6JES Assembly (6JES parents only)

Wednesday 25 September – Swim carnival

Monday 30 September – ESF CPD day

Tuesday 1 October – National Day

Monday 7 October to Friday 11 October – Mid Term Break

Tuesday 29 October to Friday 1 November – Year 6 Camp

Tuesday 19 November – 6ECN Assembly (6ECN parents only)

Saturday 7 December – Family Fun Day

We are looking forwards to a fantastic year with the Year 6 students, where we hope they strive to be ‘The best they can be’, in their final year of primary school, and please if you have any questions do not hesitate to speak to your child’s class teacher.

Kind regards

The Year 6 Team