Around HK

Full agenda for the UK Universities Clearing event | AUG 11

Posted by heo

BridgeU

Here’s the agenda for our UK Universities Clearing Event tomorrow!

The following universities will share exclusive insights about the Clearing and Adjustment places they have available – please feel free to drop in to as many sessions as you’d like.

And if you haven’t had the chance to register yet, you can do so here.

BridgeU UK Universities Clearing Event, Tuesday 11 August

  • 08:00 BST / 15:00 HKT: University of Exeter
  • 08:15 BST / 15:15 HKT: SOAS University of London
  • 08:30 BST / 15:30 HKT: Arts University Bournemouth
  • 08:45 BST / 15:45 HKT: Queen Mary University of London
  • 09:00 BST / 16:00 HKT: University of Plymouth
  • 09:15 BST / 16:15 HKT: University of Liverpool
  • 09:30 BST / 16:30 HKT: UWE Bristol
  • 09:45 BST / 16:45 HKT: University of Portsmouth
  • 10:00 BST / 17:00 HKT: University of York
  • 10:15 BST / 17:15 HKT: Coventry University
  • 10:30 BST / 17:30 HKT: Brunel University London
  • 10:45 BST / 17:45 HKT: London Metropolitan University
  • 11:00 BST / 18:00 HKT: University of Essex
  • 11:15 BST / 18:15 HKT: University of Nottingham
  • 11:30 BST / 18:30 HKT: Nottingham Trent University

Register for the event here.

Reminder: Study UK East Asia Webinar Connect: Developing your Career with a UK Business Degree, 28 July 18.30-19.30 HK

Posted by heo

British Council - Study UK Discover You - Great Britain & Northern Ireland

Do you have big plans for a career in Business?

There is no doubt that the Covid-19 pandemic has made a significant impact on global economies and changed our ways of working. How can you better equip yourselves in the post-Covid19 world?

The British Council is delighted to invite prospective parents and students for the first session of Study UK East Asia Webinar Connect on Tuesday 28 July. Academic speakers from the University of Birmingham, University of Exeter and Goldsmiths, University of London will introduce the UK’s Business undergraduate courses such as Business and Management, Business Analysis, Marketing, and Economics and how the qualification leads you to a global career. There will also be a Q&A session after the presentations for the guest speakers to address open questions from the audience.

Onsite offers may be given to suitable candidates who wish to study in the UK this September. Register with us today!

Session I:
Future Readiness – Developing Your Career with a UK Business Degree

Date: Tuesday 28 July 2020

Time: 18.30 –19.30 HKT (11.30 – 12.30 BSTT)

Website: For more information, visit our website HERE .

Registration: Click HERE to register for the event.

Enquires: Please email studyuk.hongkong@britishcouncil.org 

Note: to be conducted in English.

About Our Speakers

Dr Scott Taylor
Reader in Leadership & Organization Studies
Department of Management, Birmingham Business School

Dr Rebecca Mitchell
Programme Director MSc Business Analytics
University of Exeter Business School

Dr Tomás Rotta
Lecturer in Economics
Institute of Management Studies

 

List of the Participating Universities

University of Birmingham Business School

Birmingham Business School, one of the largest business schools in the UK, is ranked consistently highly in a range of UK and global league tables. We boast triple crown accreditation at postgraduate level from AMBA (UK), EQUIS (Europe) and AACSB (USA) and students of our programmes can gain exemption from professional exams such as ICAEW, CIMA and ACCA.

More Information

Study at Birmingham this September

There is still time for you to study with the University. Here are some useful websites:

 

University of Exeter Business School

The Science, Innovation, Technology and Entrepreneurship department focuses on how science and technology can support businesses, particularly in facilitating innovation and an entrepreneurial mindset. Members of the department conduct world leading interdisciplinary research around current business topics such as: digital economy, simulation and analytics, circular economy and the strategic implications of innovation.

More Information

Study at Exeter this September

There is still time for you to study with the University. Here are some useful websites:

 

Institute of Management Studies, Goldsmiths, University of London

Goldsmiths locates in one of the world’s business hubs – London, and was ranked in 7th place in the Guardian 2019 subject rankings for business, management and marketing places. Our management degrees offer three different specialisms including economics, entrepreneurship and marketing to prepare our students ready for a global Business career after graduation.

More Information

Study at Goldsmiths this September

There is still time for you to study with the University. Here are some useful websites:

 

HKMSUK Aspiring Medical Student Event

Posted by heo

It is our pleasure to invite your students to our Aspiring Medical Students event, tailored to those who have an interest in Medicine. This event will provide insight on the UCAS application process, UCAT and BMAT aptitude tests, teaching styles, and the UK healthcare system. Medical students currently studying at a range of UK universities will be sharing their personal experiences and attendees also have the opportunity to ask questions after the talk. This year, we are also excited to invite our partner, the Hong Kong Medical Society of Australia, to provide insight into the application process for those interested in studying in Australia.

 

In previous years, we received incredibly positive feedback from students and parents alike. Taking into account the safety of the students amidst this pandemic, we have decided to hold this year’s event online. We hope you can share this event to your students. Parents and teachers are also welcome to attend our event. The details are as follows: 

 

Date: 9th August 2020

Time: 9-11am BST / 4-6pm HKT / 6-8pm AEST

Venue: Online Zoom Webinar

 

Please refer to this link for further information and event sign-up:

https://forms.gle/nn8NJgTTu4f7P2KW7

HKU 2020 Visiting Student Scheme

Posted by heo

International Affairs Office, The University of Hong Kong

2020 Visiting Student Scheme (Local Students)

In view of the unprecedented impact brought by the COVID-19 pandemic, the University of Hong Kong (HKU) is launching a 2020 Visiting Student Scheme to assist local students whose overseas study plan is affected. Under the scheme, selected students who are Hong Kong citizens from your school with an offer from an overseas university will stand a chance to spend the first semester of their Year 1 undergraduate studies at HKU as visiting student. Students must meet the HKU admission standard for their chosen discipline or programme in order to be eligible for the scheme. Chosen students shall pay a tuition fee of HK$21,050 for the first semester at HKU. For those who are interested, please apply via this link: https://aal.hku.hk/studyabroad/avail_program.php?pid=13&type=incoming.

 

The application deadline is July 31, 2020. Thank you!

HKUST Admissions Talk for 2021 Entry (Online Talk)

Posted by heo

HKUST Admissions Talk for 2021 Entry (Online Talk)

DATE: 15 AUG 2020

TIME: 17:00-18:00

To allow every interested student to join under a safe environment, we are hosting our Admissions Talk for 2021 Entry online this year on Aug 15 (Sat) at 17:00 – 18:00. Participants may get a glimpse of the latest admissions updates, learn about university life from student sharing, and join various breakout session to chat with various School/Program representatives virtually.

Virtual UK University Hong Kong IB Clearing Fair, July 7th 2pm-7pm

Posted by heo

Virtual UK University Clearing fair for IB students on Monday 6th July. We would like to invite your students that are looking for a place through clearing or just want to explore their options after receiving their results.

 

The session will run from 2pm – 8pm (HK) or 7am – 1pm (UK). Students can scan the QR code on the attached poster using their phones/tablets and this will take the student to the universities website where they can book an appointment with a university representative. Some universities are in the position to issue an offer on the spot, other universities can issue offer recommendations or at least give the students an idea of whether they would be able to consider a student for a program at that university.

 

The student will need their official and final results in order to be assessed by a university representative, it is very unlikely that a university would be able to assess a student with only predicated grades. Universities will need an electronic copy of their IB Certificate to formalise any official offer issued, so it might be worth helping students obtain an electronic copy of the certificate whether this is scanning or taking a photo on their phone.

 

Each session will last around 15 minutes long, this should be enough time for the university and students to discuss their options and the next steps for that student. Some universities might be offering shorter or longer sessions and might also be offering Tuesday 7th July as an alternative option as well. All sessions are virtual and will be held on Skype, Zoom, Microsoft Teams and other programs.

 

The purpose of the fair is to give options to students that may need to apply through clearing and/or assess their options after receiving their results. Students that are Conditional Firm/Insurance at institutions are not encouraged to book a session with those institutions that they hold an offer with, as representatives cannot make their offers Unconditional during the fair. They would need to contact their university directly.

 

Please see attached the promotional poster for the event confirming the universities that are attending, QR codes and other details. The universities that are taking part in this event will be promoting this via their social media channels, however it would also be great if you could please promote this to your students/parents/counsellors as well.

CUHK Programme Taster Fair (11 July 2020)

Posted by heo

CUHK Programme Taster Fair (11 July 2020)

Curious about life at university?
Looking for hot topics to study at college?

Want to hear from current students?

Join us online on 11 July 2020 (Saturday) at CUHK Programme Taster Fair 2020 ! Registration required for live activities on first-come-first-served basis.

Target: Students in Grade 10 / Year 11 or above

Language: Cantonese and/ or English (each session is different; please refer to descriptions on the webpage before registration)

Event Rundown and Registration: Click here

Activities Highlight

★ BBA and Juris Doctor (BBA-JD): The Best of Both Worlds

★ Hospitality and Real Estate: Innovative Ideas Competition Briefing with Mini Lecture

★ Why Early Childhood Education Matters?

★ Biomedical Engineering: Admission Consultation & Students’ Sharing

★ Surgeon’s Role in Treating Urological Cancers

★ Training to be a world-class scientist in CU Biomedical Sciences + Crime scene investigation

★ Urban Design Thinking and Community Co-creation

Enquiries: 3943-8949 / 3943-1520

Office of Admissions and Financial Aid

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Secondary Learning Summer Options Guide 2020

Posted by heo

Academic Learning Programs for Secondary School Students 

Cooking and Baking 

Creativity and Performing Arts 

Dance 

Entrepreneurship Hands-on Learning 

Internship Opportunities 

Languages 

Multi-Activity Camps 

Outdoor Education 

Science and Technology 

Volunteer Opportunities 

 

Sassy Mama’s Ultimate Guide to Summer Camps (May19, 2020)

This article includes many of the classes/camps above and some discount codes as well

PolyU Online Design Lecture Series – BA Programmes

Posted by heo

Image

LSE Hong Kong undergraduate Q&A’s | May 12 | 4:00pm

Posted by heo

LSE Logo Download Vector

Link to presentation:
https://lse.zoom.us/rec/share/y9UrF5f13XNIQ6Pc9Ur4VbB-RafLaaa8hiAc-_dfz0jNDVZID8YAWXZiKNauo9cy?startTime=1588268276000

Password:
6p+euF?8

 

Topic: LSE Hong Kong undergraduateQ&A’s

Time: May 12, 2020 04:00 PM Hong Kong

Join Zoom Meeting

https://lse.zoom.us/j/96546483621?pwd=MnFzSlY1dXNRSDJXbGVXQndqRzZQUT09

 

Meeting ID: 965 4648 3621

Password: 003900

One tap mobile

+85258033730,,96546483621# Hong Kong, China

+85258033731,,96546483621# Hong Kong, China

 

Dial by your location

+852 5803 3730 Hong Kong, China

+852 5803 3731 Hong Kong, China

+852 5808 6088 Hong Kong, China

Meeting ID: 965 4648 3621

Find your local number: https://lse.zoom.us/u/adXimASXSg